Review of “For Every Season” by Cindy Woodsmall

WOW! All I can say in this moment is WOW!

WOW!

For Every Season picOK. Now that I’ve taken a breath and calmed down a little… I’d like to give you some backstory before I go on with my review.

First, you should know that I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Company in exchange for an honest review.

When I picked it, I was excited because I’ve just gotten into this genre of Amish fiction and I’ve bought a lot of books lately to that end. Book 1 of this series: “A Season for Tending” was one of them. So I thought to myself, “Wow! I can read the one I have, find the second one and I’ll be all read up by the time I get the third one.”

YAY! right?

Well, first, I couldn’t find the second book anywhere. And when I finally did, I could only find it brand new and I am a bargain hunter at heart so I did the next best thing. I checked it out from the library. Now, of course I don’t want to give it back.

I am thrilled to have found this series.

I am thrilled to have found this series. The main character struggles with an issue that is very near and dear to my heart and I enjoy, so much, reading about it. I also enjoy reading about the ways of the Amish and the ways these Amish interact with the English around them.

I applaud Cindy Woodsmall!

I tweeted today that this series is Absolutely PERFECT for anyone who’s not 100% sure about reading Amish fiction. When I started reading, I thought it was a case of how the author got the Amish wrong. That is NOT IT AT ALL! This author is too good to have gotten her facts wrong. What she has written here is a wonderful example of how we English should be able to interact with Amish and how they should be able to interact with us. That is a powerful message and I applaud Cindy Woodsmall for it! Amazing!

When I read the first book in the series, I was wrapped up in the whole “getting the Amish wrong” angle and it slowed me up. By the time I read the second book, I hadn’t gotten it yet but I no longer cared. I just knew I had to read more. In this book, I got it. I finally understood the message. And while I’m ashamed it took so long to sink into my thick head, I’m thrilled it finally got through.

A recap: The first book of this series: “A Season for Tending” peaked my interest and whetted my appetite for more. I was so into the story by the time I started book two that I rushed out to the library to snatch it up before anyone else could.

I started the second book of this series: “The Winnowing Season” with a strong sense of excitement and happiness. It quickly gave way to frustration and irritation. I’m not telling why. Read it, you’ll see.

A lot of that irritation followed me as I started “For Every Season”. It took a lot of pages for me to realize that irritation wasn’t going anywhere. And still, I could not stop reading.

I tweeted earlier that it was Cindy Woodsmall’s fault I’ve not been tweeting much the past few days.

I also tweeted today that it was Cindy Woodsmall’s fault I’ve not been tweeting much the past few days. That is very true. Her storytelling has held me captive. Despite my irritation, I could NOT put the book down. I had to keep reading! I had to find out what would happen next! And now, having finished the third book in this series, I find myself sitting on pins and needles while I wait for the fourth. Seriously Cindy, write faster please!

This book is a perfect continuation of the story Cindy started painting in “A Season for Tending”. Too many authors flounder a bit in their telling of a continuing story. They try to make books stand on their own within a series and they spend half the book rehashing the ones before. They play it safe and end up doing things that worked in previous books and don’t take the chances that need to be taken to continue the story properly.

I couldn’t put the book down.

Cindy is not guilty of any of these things. She sprinkles in bits about the first and second books in all the right places and she does it so seamlessly you don’t even realize it’s been done. And she definitely had no problem taking chances. While I read, I was annoyed, irritated and frustrated to the point that I wanted to scream. But I didn’t put the book down. I couldn’t put the book down. I had to keep reading. I had to find out where this book would take us in the continuing saga of Samuel, Jacob, Leah, Landon and Rhoda.

I’m not good at synopsis so I’m going to direct you to GoodReads where you can read more about it. HERE

And you can find more information about Cindy Woodsmall and her other novels on her WEBSITE.

But trust me when I say that this series is worth your time. It’s a fantastic read and not just for those who LOVE Amish fiction but for anyone who loves a great story!

BloggingForBooks-300x250

And…here’s a list of GREAT links provided by WaterBrook Multnomah

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from the Blogging for Books reviewer program by WaterBrook Multnomah.

Check out my other reviews for them HERE.

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

