A look back at my first “Amish” read! “A Simple Amish Christmas” by Vannetta Chapman

Several people over the last year have told me I need to read Amish fiction. I finally gave in and the first book I chose was Vannetta Chapman’s “A Simple Amish Christmas”. Yes I can happily read about Christmas any time of the year.

Since I never wrote a proper review for it, I’m going to do that now.

20130911-180102.jpg

Keep in mind, at the time I read this, I had no frame of reference

Keep in mind, at the time I read this, I had no frame of reference (other than movies I’ve watched and actual Amish I’ve encountered). Since then however, I feel I’ve gotten a pretty good feel for several other authors and their work and I feel completely justified in saying Vannetta Chapman is one of the best writers of Amish fiction in the market! I’ve actually had a difficult time finding her books in used bookstores and I can only assume it’s because people can’t bear to let them go.

Vannetta Chapman is clearly one of the best writers of Amish fiction in the market!

From the first page I was hooked. The characters are real. I have no doubt whatsoever that Amish truly act like these characters. The setting is vivid and the scenes are painted so clearly. You can almost feel the cold and smell the fresh, clean air. The story is gripping. A definite page-turner. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next!

A definite page-turner.

An amazing story! One I will read again and again for years to come! I highly recommend this book to anyone! Not just lovers of Amish fiction either! I think anyone who enjoys a good, decent romance will enjoy this story!

Anyone who enjoys a good, decent romance will enjoy this story!

Now I just have to find some more of her books to enjoy!

To read more about Vannetta Chapman and her wonderful books, check out her website HERE
And you can read more about “A Simple Amish Christmas” on GoodReads HERE

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below. I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

God Bless You!

