Back to Simple…

IMG_0932

While reading Cindy Woodsmall’s “Amish Vines and Orchards” series, I discovered something curious.

I have been a huge fan of eReaders for a long time. I’m not crazy about the basic kindle… I like having a touchscreen and the ability to download apps. I like the iPad but I also like having expandable storage.

The Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 is perfect for me!

The Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 is perfect for me! It’s nice and light, has a touchscreen, there are tons of apps available, it offers expandable storage AND the price was right. So this is the device I bought. I have the kindle app, nook and several other reading apps. The one issue I have with the tablet is how difficult it is to find cases for it. Oh well. One fly in the ointment is not enough to throw the whole thing out.

I have been buying books on kindle now for a while and I really enjoy having them with me wherever I go. (I also enjoy catching all the freebie promotions!)

I really enjoy having them with me wherever I go.

However, there is still something special for me about “real” books. I love the feel of the book in my hands, I love turning the pages, I love reading by lamplight without having to worry about the glare hurting my eyes and I love seeing them all stacked neatly on my shelves. And I have a LOT of shelves that are just full of books. (Some of them are even kid’s books…LOL) I’m also quite fond of hardback books. I cannot count the number of times I’ve bought two copies of a book because I wanted it in hardback too. (Thank goodness for used bookstores huh!)

Anyway, to get back to the point…

While reading the “Amish Vines and Orchards” series, I discovered that I had trouble going back and forth between reading on my Samsung eReader and the “real” book.

I discovered that I had trouble going back and forth between my eReader and the “real” book.

I mentioned having a lot of books in my kindle app and I do. I love having them where I can take them wherever I go. So, while reading this series, I went back and forth between the “real” book and the books on my kindle app. And I noticed whenever I went to the app, I had a lot of trouble adjusting. This is a new experience for me. I’ve done this before with other “real” books and never noticed a problem.

So I must conclude that it is more to do with the content of the books than the book itself. So the next question is, Is this my brain’s way of telling me I need to simplify my life?

Is this my brain’s way of telling me I need to simplify my life?

I say this with only a hint of irony since I’m typing this post on my iPhone at the moment.

It’s a curious occurrence and I’m very interested to see if it continues.

I’ll let you know…

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below. I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

God Bless You!

One thought on “Back to Simple…

Comments are closed.