(UPDATED) Bake Through the Bible by Susie Bentley & Bekah Moore

(UPDATED) I feel it only fair to tell you that I have now attempted some of these recipes with my children and there are a couple of concerns I have:

First: the cookie recipes appear to be the pretty much the same cookie each time with only changes to make them roll-able or shape-able and my kids did not enjoy the taste of them, which shocks me because HELLO they’re cookies.

Second: the other recipes are not what I would call kid-friendly recipes. I thought the kids would jump at the little pizzas and the bread play but that was not our experience. They didn’t even want to make half of them, and the ones they did make, they wouldn’t eat.

So good for activity maybe and maybe good for relaying the Bible stories but not really foods that kids will eat.

“ORIGINAL REVIEW BELOW”

I received this book FREE in exchange for an honest review from Cross-Focused Reviews. I cannot honestly say whether or not I would have spent what the sticker price for this book is since my family is on a very tight budget and it seems a bit high.

Bake-Through-The-Bible

This book has 20 Bible stories that go along with a fun recipe for the kids to try out. Personally I can say that my children enjoy the simple, engaging style, they are told in.

It’s designed to take your child through the main storyline of the Bible. I feel there are a lot of important stories that could have been added but I’m guessing it’s not easy to match up recipes with all of these stories.

But then, maybe they’ll come out with another one sometime. Make it a whole series…

Along with the stories there are questions to discuss while you’re cooking and even a recap to use while you’re eating what you’ve cooked.

“Cooking activities include: – Sparkly promise cookies to remember God’s wonderful promises to Abraham – Happy crepe faces in response to God’s promise to send His Rescuer and Forever-King – Spiral tuna wraps for a picnic that links with Jesus’ miracle of feeding thousands – An empty bread tomb with Easter dips to celebrate Jesus’ resurrection… You don’t have to be a good cook—just ready to have some fun as you Bake through the Bible!” – Cross Focused Reviews

We have not completed all of these recipes yet. We are adding this book to our homeschool and going through them slowly, doing one a week. I am going to post about that experience HERE on my Cooking Adventures With Kids blog!

It’s a great opportunity to learn
AND have yummy treats too!

I have read through the book though and I can tell you this. The stories are engaging and simple. The recipes look like a lot of fun! And the kids are excited to get started! That alone tells me this is a GREAT book for kids!

I would recommend this book to parents, especially those of you who may be having some difficulty getting them to understand the BIG bible stories. The interactive nature gives children a whole new understanding of how the stories relate to them personally.

And Now some information from the
Cross Focused Reviews website…

About the Authors: Susie grew up near Birmingham, UK. Having studied in Durham, in the north-east of England, she now lives in Oxford and is part of Magdalen Road Church. Susie has a background in secondary-school English teaching and worked full-time in that context for five years. She is married to Pete and they have a son called Joshua.

Bekah was born and brought up in South Yorkshire. She studied French and Russian in Durham. She then taught French before teaching teenagers with multiple learning difficulties in a Special School. Bekah is married to Nick and currently lives in Oxford with their two-year-old son Simeon. They are part of St Ebbe’s Church.

Book Information:

  • Publisher: The Good Book Company (2013)
  • ISBN: 9781909559004
  • Page Count: 64

Blog Tour Details:

  • Tour Dates: October 7-13, 2013
  • Available Formats: Paperback (Continental US Only)

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below. I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

God Bless You!

One thought on “(UPDATED) Bake Through the Bible by Susie Bentley & Bekah Moore

Comments are closed.