“The Sound of Sleigh Bells” by Cindy Woodsmall

I don’t know if I am a good enough writer to do this review justice but I’m going to try.

6275220

This is the first of three novellas Cindy Woodsmall has written about the Apple Ridge community.

Fair warning:
if you don’t like long-winded back stories, you might want to scroll down until you see the word REVIEW!

A few months back, I became a reviewer for a couple of different companies and the first book I received for review was “For Every Season” by Cindy Woodsmall. So, of course I went in search of the first two books in that series because I like to start at the beginning with a series.

I’ll be honest, when I first started reading “A Season for Tending”, I was slightly annoyed with the book and the characters. There were a few inconsistencies and things I have trouble believing an Amish person would say but I like to finish a book if it’s at all possible so I soldiered on.

And it was no time at all before I was completely and totally
sucked in
because it is a great book! I moved on to the next book and it was just as great, maybe even better. So I read the third book and wrote my review and I am impatiently waiting for the fourth installment.

I want “Seasons of Tomorrow” TODAY!

In the meantime, I got a chance to review “The Dawn of Christmas” by Cindy Woodsmall. Another “third in the series” book. Fortunately, back when I fell madly in love with Cindy’s writing, I bought a bunch of her books so I had the first two in that series already!

Now I haven’t read through them quickly because I’ve had a bunch of other books to read and NaNoWriMo and being a mom and… you know, life. But I just finished “The Sound of Sleigh Bells” and it was an AMAZING READ!

And let me tell you, I did not have the same experience AT ALL that I had with “A Season for Tending”. With “The Sound of Sleigh Bells”, I was hooked from the first page!

REVIEW”

I’m going to try really hard not to ruin anything here and I’ll say again, I’m not sure I am a good enough writer to really do it justice but I’m going to give it my best shot.

If you are someone who has ever had a rough relationship, this is something you NEED to read. If you’ve ever dealt with loss, this is something you NEED to read! And if you enjoy a good book with wonderful characters and a fantastic story, you will WANT to read this book.

It’s truly a GREAT read!

Cindy has a talent for reaching out of the story, getting a firm grip on your heart and pulling you into the story. And when you find your way back out again, you’ve had an amazing experience and you never quite look at the world in the same way again… or at least that’s the way I feel anyway.

Cindy has a talent for taking hold of your
heart strings.

The beauty of Cindy Woodsmall’s writing is that she writes characters who could be anyone. One of the things we struggle with is the realization that the Amish are just like us, they just live their faith in a different way than most of us do. They’re not really very different from most religions. Every religion has their own little things they do differently than anyone else, rules, traditions, ideals and even habits.

So these characters in Cindy’s novels, they could be anyone. It’s so very easy to associate the things they go through with your aunt or your father or your next door neighbor or someone you work with. And she does this really well. She has a true talent for helping you to get into a characters head and I am so thankful for it.

I pray that Cindy’s books bless you the way they have me and I pray God Blesses Cindy Woodsmall and her writing for many years to come!

You can click HERE to read more about this book and to read an excerpt!
Here’s a LINK to info on this book on GoodReads.
Here’s a LINK to Cindy’s Website.

And you can go HERE if you want to read and rate my review. THANKS! 

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below. I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

God Bless You!

2 thoughts on ““The Sound of Sleigh Bells” by Cindy Woodsmall

  1. Terrific post. I’ve read the book (and love it) but your post makes me want to go back and read it again… which I will do after I finish NaNoWriMo – it’ll be December, the perfect time!

    Like

Comments are closed.