“The Christmas Quilt” by Vannetta Chapman

This book is very exciting for me because it’s about the characters I fell in love with in the very first Amish fiction novel I ever read.

5660435I was thrilled to see it advertised and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.

Of course, as fate would have it, the book arrived just as November got off to a start and I became a crazy
person – between NaNoWriMo and reviewing the stack of other books that had piled up on my desk.

However, when I picked up the book, I could not put it down. It was an amazing read and I enjoyed every
second of it.

The only complaint I might have is that it took so long for two young couples so much in love to conceive. (In case you can’t tell… I’m teasing) This book is an excellent continuation of the story that started in “A Simple Amish Christmas” and it shows just how wonderful a writer Vannetta Chapman is. Three years passed between the writing of one and the other but it feels like she wrote them back to back. The characters have the same voices, mannerisms and behaviors.

The characters are all just as wonderful as I remember them.

The story itself is wonderful too. It isn’t just another “we’re trying to stretch the series out”
kind of sequel either. It’s really a good next step and, I think, a story anyone would enjoy.

Also, and I don’t want to give too much away here but, there are a few really interesting surprises tucked in the pages.

I really love the extra little touches Vannetta puts in, all those extra little things that give us a real glimpse into Amish life. It helps pull you right into the story. I also really enjoy how Vannetta blends
the Amish lives with the “Englisch” around them. The Amish strive to remain separate but a big part of their faith is about being open and loving to all of God’s (Gotte’s) children. Vannetta writes that aspect perfectly in my opinion. She has a talent for capturing their “voice” and their feelings and emotions – a tremendous accomplishment for an “Englisch” writer. You would never know she did not grow up Amish.

A wonderful read for anyone who enjoys this genre!

And, while I recommend that you read “A Simple Amish Christmas” first, this book could easily be read first or even alone. And now I’m off to work on my NaNoNovel and read up the rest of the books in my TBR pile.

Until next time… From Litfuse:

About the book:
Annie’s life is deliciously full as the Christmas season
approaches. She helps her husband, Samuel, attend to the
community’s minor medical needs. She occasionally assists Belinda,
the local midwife, and most days, she finds herself delivering the
buggy to her brother Adam. Annie’s sister-in-law Leah is due to
deliver their first child before Christmas morning, and Annie is
determined to finish a crib quilt before the boppli arrives. With
six weeks to go, she should have no problem . . . but God may have
a different plan. Leah is rushed to the English hospital when the
infant arrives early, and Annie discovers the Christmas quilt may
hold a far greater significance than she ever
imagined.

I give it 5 stars! A GREAT READ!

Click HERE for more info from Litfuse about the blog tour for “The Christmas Quilt” Make sure you click HERE and check out the Quilts of Love website!

Click HERE for the GoodReads book page. Be careful, some of their reviews include a few too many spoilers for my taste.

You can click HERE to check out Vannetta Chapman’s website.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity book review program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Happy Reading

And

GOD BLESS!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

5 thoughts on ““The Christmas Quilt” by Vannetta Chapman

    1. Thank you so very much for writing such wonderful books!

      I must admit that I am a bargain hunter so I have looked for your books at our local used bookstore. Not once have I found even one of them.

      And I was joking with a good friend of mine that your books are just so good, people can’t bear to let go of them.

      Then I realized it wasn’t really a joke.

      I know I couldn’t bear to sell one of them. They’re such wonderful stories and I feel especially blessed to have found them!

      God bless you!

      Like

Comments are closed.