25 Posts of Christmas Day 8: A Christmas Rant

grrrrrrrThis will be my first negative Christmas post this year and hopefully my last.

I spent hours, literally hours… yesterday fixing a post that took me hours to write/edit/organize to begin with… over a month ago.

If you’re a fan of my blog, you’ve probably seen it:  “The 25 Books of Christmas

Well, if you go read that post, it will tell you about why but if you want to know without having to go somewhere else, just keep reading.

I posted about Christmas books – 25 of them. And let me tell you, you never realize until you go look, that it’s difficult to actually find 25 Christmas books that you like. So I put in quite a few that I haven’t actually read. Most of them are on my to-read list but a few of them, I put in because I’d heard good things or (in the case of the ones that got the whole thing going) I loved the movie.

If you enjoy Christmas movies, you’ve probably seen “Mrs. Miracle” or “Call me Mrs. Miracle” at some point or other.

And if you’ve never read the books, let me caution you…

There is bad language in the first paragraph on the first page.
It’s bad enough the man calls his son such a thing but to actually spell out the word repeatedly is unnecessary and in very poor taste in my opinion.

First if all, it’s not really required to spell out the actual word. There are plenty of writers who allude to the word without actually putting it right there in black and white for all to see.

Second, to keep repeating it (it’s right there in the first chapter at least twice more) is just reprehensible.

Third – and this is the big one – It’s a story about an Angel! Am I the only one who thinks this is completely ridiculous? Really! In a story about an angel, we’re really going to put bad language… and spoken to a child in a completely inappropriate manner.

Needless to say, I felt a great desire to edit my post, removing the books by this author and adding in some others by trusted Christian Authors.

And that is what has truly annoyed me.

Everything, and I mean everything I did to edit this post met with disastrous results. Every picture I tried to insert, every excerpt I tried to paste and every synopsis I tried to move caused mass havoc.

Suffice to say I had a rough day and it took copious amounts of Hot Cocoa and a favorite movie to soothe my ragged nerves.

On the bright side, I feel better having stood up for my principles.

And I am reminded again of what Jesus did for us so long ago.

His ideas were not popular with everyone. His teachings made a lot of people angry and he ultimately died for his principles.

So with that in mind, I feel even better about it all.

Rant over. Go about your business.

17 Days til ChristmasAnd…

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

GOD BLESS YOU!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

One thought on “25 Posts of Christmas Day 8: A Christmas Rant

Comments are closed.