25 Posts of Christmas Day 18: Another wonderful story from Pebble Creek

9780736946162Once again I have received a book to review and it was the third book in a series. (I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers in exchange for an honest review)

And it too began a crazy search for the first two books.

I really like to read books in order. I can’t help it. I’m weird that way.

The first book was not difficult at all to find. It was the second book (again… it must just be me) that made itself hard to track down. But I finally found it!

And ironically, I read the eBook “Home to Pebble Creek” before I read any of the others in the series (It was FREE on Amazon. I couldn’t help myself!) but I’m going to have to go back and re-read it after having read these three books that started the series.

In a few days you’ll see my review of “Christmas in Pebble Creek” which is the second eBook Vannetta Chapman has released (Another FREEBIE) to go along with the series.

I’m sure it will be just as wonderful a story as the rest of them!

And I really hope we see more stories from Pebble Creek too!

Here are a few words from Harvest House Publishers about “A Wedding for Julia” before I share my thoughts.

A Wedding for Julia, the third book in a romantic series from popular author Vannetta Chapman, takes a last look at the Amish community of Pebble Creek and the kind, caring people there. As they face challenges from the English world, they come together to reach out to their non-Amish neighbors while still preserving their cherished Plain ways.

Julia Beechy is so stunned, she can hardly breathe. Her mother’s announcement that she must either marry or move from the family home upon her mother’s imminent death catches Julia by surprise. How can she leave the only home she has ever known? What about her dream of opening her own Plain café?

When Caleb Zook offers support, comfort, and a solution, Julia is afraid to accept it. Can she marry someone she barely knows? Is it the right thing to do? Is this God’s plan for her future?

Caleb thought his time for marrying was long past, but he feels a stirring in his heart he cannot shake for this beautiful, forlorn woman. Amid the circumstances of this life-altering decision, the people of Pebble Creek weather the worst storm to hit Wisconsin in the last hundred years. Where will Julia and Caleb be on the other side of it?

Another heartwarming story from Vannetta Chapman. She’s too good a writer to do anything but great! Once again we see the wonderful weaving in of characters from books 1 & 2 in the series – one more reason I just love series.

One thing I enjoy deeply about Vannetta’s books is how real everything and everyone is to the reader. You expect to look up and see them all around you, women knitting and children playing. You expect to hear the door open and men stomping the mud off their boots. She describes every little thing so easily and so well.

She also crafts a full-bodied story line. It really brings home that these people are just like us in so many ways. They may live under much stricter standards but their children run and shout. The ladies get together and chat while wrangling the kids. The men still gather and talk about the weather or the crops or changes in the area around them.

She makes them real for us.

How many times have we read stories about people in the English world dealing with the very same things?

…A parent pushing their child to get out into the world and get married.

…A person afraid to commit to a marriage with someone they don’t “feel that way” about.

…And I can’t even count the number of romances I’ve read where difficult situations – storms, robbery, cold of winter, the list goes on and on – have forced two people to examine their true feelings for each other.

These books are an excellent link to the Amish world, a peek into their lives and a window into their world. I find myself very glad there are two eBooks after this one. And I hope she doesn’t stop there. I hope to have more stories from Pebble Creek to read!

And here’s a bit of irony for you:
Most people would probably miss this but I’m just weird this way. On the cover of this book we see a young woman with jet black hair while the cover for the first book: “A Promise for Miriam” shows a young woman with brown hair. And yet it is Miriam who is described as having black hair. It’s mentioned several times in the first and second books. Not that it really means much – it’s just one of my little idiosyncrasies. It has no bearing whatsoever on the stories – they’re all just FANTASTIC! And I highly recommend the entire series to EVERYONE!

5star

If you would like to read more about this book click HERE to go to the page at Harvest House Publishers. You can also read a sample chapter on this page!

Or click HERE to read more reviews over at GoodReads

And you can read more about Vannetta Chapman on her website HERE

7daysWishing you and your family a Merry and Blessed Christmas this year!

GOD BLESS YOU!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

