Emma of Aurora trilogy by Jane Kirkpatrick

20131230-093301.jpg

Before I get into my thoughts, here’s a quick synopsis from GoodReads:

The Change and Cherish trilogy, based on the true story of Emma Wagner Giesy, now available in one volume:

A Clearing in the Wild:
When Emma’s outspoken ways and growing skepticism lead to a clash with the 1850s Bethel, Missouri colony’s beloved leader, she finds new opportunities to pursue her dreams of independence. But as she clears a pathway West to her truest and deepest self, she discovers something she never expected: a yearning for the warm embrace of community.

A Tendering in the Storm:
Determined to raise her children on her own terms, Emma suddenly finds herself alone and pregnant with her third child, struggling to keep her family secure in the remote coastal forest of the Washington Territory. As clouds of despair close in, she must decide whether to continue in her own waning strength or to humble herself and accept help from the very people she once so eagerly left behind.

A Mending at the Edge:
As a mother, daughter, sister, and estranged wife, Emma struggles to find her place inside—and outside—the confines of her religious community. Emma reaches out to others on the fringe, searching for healing and purpose. By blending her unique talents with service to others, she creates renewed hope as she weaves together the threads of family, friends, and faith.

And my first thought, when I opened the enormous box this monster arrived in was…

Holy Cow!

I know it’s a bit unoriginal but it’s the best I could come up with in that moment.

I realize this really has no bearing on the books themselves but it was the first thought associated with the book so I feel it’s worth sharing. I’ve noticed in a lot of the other reviews I’ve seen that people are excited to have all three stories in one place but I can’t help pointing out the opposite side to this. The book is enormous. For me, it’s been a bit of a hindrance. It’s difficult to read a book that is so large – in paperback. If the book were a hardbound, with a more flexible spine, I would have had a much easier time with it – which is why I read it on my e-reader.

However, I can see the appeal. It is nice to have all three books in one volume. It is nice not to have to track down three different books. And it’s nice to have only one price to pay instead of three.

My fascination with historical stories began with the Little House books. My mother read them to me as a child and I’m reading them to my children. As anyone who has read these knows, the stories are told through the eyes and voice of a child but they are true stories and Laura Ingals Wilder does a superb job of it in my opinion.

Laura Ingals Wilder and Jane Kirkpatrick have that in common. She takes the life of a woman who lived long before any of us were even born and makes her real to us. It’s a daunting enough task to write about a fictional character who lived many years ago but to write with such passion about an actual person, someone who you have never met or spoken with… that shows an incredible skill. I am not alone in my admiration and I intend to seek out more books written by Jane Kirkpatrick.

A wonderful read!

Click HERE for more information about this title from WaterBrook Multnomah and to read an excerpt of the book.

Click HERE for more info and reviews on GoodReads

Click HERE to see my review on the Blogging for Books website and help me out by rating it.

Click HERE for Jane Kirkpatrick’s website

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from the Blogging for Books reviewer program by WaterBrook Multnomah.

Check out my other reviews for them HERE.

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

