“The Calling” by Suzanne Woods Fisher | The Inn at Eagle Hill book 2

20140103-162115.jpg

OK… I think these books are my new favorite series! WHAT a turnaround! Here I thought there was something about Suzanne’s writing that was annoying me and I was ready to quit reading. Well I was right… sort of. It is Suzanne’s writing that was agitating me. But only because she draws a reader into the story so well that we feel the emotions that her characters are feeling. And at the beginning of “The Letters”, there was some serious agitation going around.

“The Calling” is a FANTASTIC read!

Suzanne Woods Fisher has managed to continue the story beautifully while introducing many new elements as well!

A small irony… when I wrote the words you just read above, I had only read about 50 pages of the book. I like creating the review template early on my computer (adding the picture and positioning it, copying in the synopsis, setting links, etc…) so all that’s left is to type in my thoughts and impressions. That way, if I have to do it on my phone later, it’s easier to get it all done. So I created this template with a few first impressions and then went back to reading.

As I read further, Suzanne introduced more and more elements that drew me even deeper into the story – to the point that I was in tears over what I was reading. AMAZING! Suzanne crafts a story that involves each character we are introduced to in ways that we could never imagine. She is a truly blessed author and I look forward to going back and reading each and every one of her other books while I wait for the next book in this series.

What a wonderful continuation of the story.

What a tremendous example of how God moves things and people in and out of our lives for our good. We almost never see God in the little everyday kind of things that happen to us. And most of the time we miss the grand plan that God has for us until it’s staring us in the face… and in some cases, not until it has already settled in for a nice long stay.

“The Letters” was very much a surprise to me. I began reading and was almost immediately irritated – to the point that I almost decided not to even finish the story. But, having a determination to finish what I start, I did. And I am so glad I did. It was an amazing story, a true blessing to my soul. And “The Calling” was even better! Now I find myself agitated again, except this time it is because there is so long to wait for the next installment.

5star

Here is a bit of info from the Baker Publishing House about the book and Suzanne Woods Fisher.

Bethany’s restless heart is searching for answers–in life and in love

Bethany Schrock’s love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending hot summer days wading through a lifetime of accumulation at the home of five elderly Amish sisters. She’s not sure what she wants out of life, but she knows that she’s not finding it in Stoney Ridge.

Then a new guest at the Inn at Eagle Hill ropes her into volunteering in a community project for down-and-outers. Reluctant at first, Bethany starts to feel a bit of joy and satisfaction again. But not so much that Jimmy Fisher, adorable and impossible, can woo her affections with his winks and tricks. Well, maybe a little.

When a figure from her past reenters her life, Bethany must decide: What does the past mean to her future?

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher delivers her trademark twists, turns, and tender romance in this delightful and exciting visit to the quiet community of Stoney Ridge.

“Fisher’s characters are living the simple life–or trying to, despite the hardships they are facing–and learning how to adjust their way of life without compromising their beliefs. We get a glimpse of life few outsiders are privileged to see, with some surprises, twists, and turns.”–RT Book Reviews

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of an Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Suzanne is a Christy Award finalist, a Carol Award winner, and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit http://www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

You can find more info and an excerpt of the book HERE from The Baker Publishing Group.

You can click HERE to read more reviews and find other info on GoodReads.

And there’s a link above but here’s another to Suzanne’s WEBSITE

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity book review program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Happy Reading

And

GOD BLESS!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

