Leslie Gould – Flirting with Shakespeare (Review of Minding Molly | The Courtships of Lancaster County)

Courting-Cate-248x384    AdoringAddie_roughs.indd

20140213-172335.jpg

I must say I never thought I would see an Amish story styled after a Shakespearean play but Leslie Gould has written three of them. I don’t know if she has any more planned but they seem to be fairly popular so I wouldn’t be surprised.

I am reviewing Minding Molly but the questions/answers/opinions really apply to all three books so it’s kind of one and the same.

Did Leslie Gould accomplish what she set out to do? Yes, I believe she did. They read very much like the plays of Shakespeare’s that they were styled after. The characters follow suit and the story went along the same lines… minus the extreme tragedy that typically befalls Shakespeare’s characters in the end. Don’t get me wrong, there’s plenty of tragedy filling all three.

How was the writing? It was good. Leslie Gould is a skilled writer. You’d have to be to take a Shakespearean tragedy and style it into a modern day Amish story and she definitely succeeds there. It’s a bit difficult to get attached to some of her characters but we have to remember who they’re patterned after. And I have to say, I find it a little difficult to accept that boys and girls who are brought up Amish would behave in the ways some of them did but again, remember who the characters are written to behave as…

 Now the really tough question…

Did I enjoy the book(s)? No, I really didn’t. When I think back to it, in high school I didn’t really enjoy the work of Shakespeare so much as I enjoyed the positive attention I received from my classmates because I understood his work.

Will I give Leslie Gould’s work another chance? Yes. Especially if she writes a typical Amish novel – I definitely would.

I suppose the point is that I am not the person I was twenty years ago. I’m not even the same person I was five years ago so my taste in literature has changed dramatically and I tend to steer clear of a lot of what is “popular”. That would probably include these books and any others in the series that comes along.

However, I enjoyed her collaboration with Mindy Starns Clark on The Women of Lancaster County series so I’m not writing her off at all.

Is this the book/series for you? That’s a question you have to answer for yourself. Check out the synopsis below, read some other reviews, see if your local library has it to borrow. And, if you just LOVE Shakespeare, I’d say yes, it is the book/series for you so you should give it a try. And I always say you should start at the beginning so start with Courting Cate and go from there to Adoring Addie and then finish up with Minding Molly. 

3 Stars

A brief rundown on Minding Molly from Bethany House:

Molly Zook Has Everything Planned Just Right.
Or So She Thinks!

Molly Zook’s always liked being in control, so she’s struggling with her mother’s wish that, to save the family farm, she marry Mervin Mosier. Especially after Molly meets Leon Fisher. He’s from Montana but is now training horses at a nearby ranch. He’s tall and muscular and confident–Molly has never met anyone like him and she’s sure he feels the same about her.

Determined to let nothing get between them, Molly tries to coax Mervin into falling back in love with Molly’s best friend, Hannah. A weekend camping trip in the Poconos could be just the place…but things quickly go awry, and it seems Leon and Hannah might be falling for each other instead! Will Molly keep struggling to control everyone and everything around her? Or will she learn to let God handle the twists and turns of her life?

To find more info on this title and read an excerpt, click HERE And if you click where it says Courtships of Lancaster County – it will take you to a page where you can check out the rest of the series.

To find more reviews from ChristianBook.com, click HERE or from GoodReads, click HERE
And click HERE to visit Leslie Gould’s website.

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

Disclaimer: I received Minding Molly free in exchange for an honest review from the Bethany House reviewer program.

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

