“Scraps of Evidence” by Barbara Cameron

20140222-002013.jpg

All I can say is this: I really hope Barbara never lets anyone talk her into making this a movie because they’ll ruin it.

WHAT a GREAT story!

I have to say it was a bit of a shock for my system going from Amish to Crime – and by the same author but I’m so glad I went ahead and read them in order. As a matter of fact, I’m sitting here writing this a full two days ahead of schedule. It was THAT GOOD! I seriously could NOT put the book down and I usually detest mystery novels. I used to read a series by another author who shall remain nameless and it effectively killed any taste for mysteries that I may have had.

But this book is nowhere near the same league as those. Or any other… And when I say that, I mean that this book is far far above the rest.

I could happily read a dozen more by Barbara because I already know that she is capable of writing a great story with believable characters and a plot-line that even a seasoned mystery writer would envy.

Barbara Cameron doesn’t drag things out, she doesn’t throw in a ridiculous amount of obvious clues and… the coup-de-grâce – she does not have her characters do stupid things. No walking right into the path of the killer over and over again, no figuring out the whole thing right before the killer sticks a gun to your temple and no running around screaming like an idiot. I LOVE IT!

THANK YOU Barbara Cameron!

And PLEASE write more of these kind of stories!

You might, if you’re an old-hand at mysteries, pick out a clue or two but nothing that stands there screaming “RIGHT HERE! THEY DID IT! DON’T MISS THIS!” And some of you might think the romance moves a little too quickly (I don’t think I’m giving anything away there – you knew there had to be romance) but please remember this is a short book. It’s supposed to move fast. However, I have to say that I don’t think the book itself moved too fast – it had a perfect pace and, at the end, I found myself wondering how I’d gotten there already.

The only complaint I have is the synopsis. I don’t know if the book underwent a lot of changes since it was written or if whoever wrote it just hadn’t read the book but there are several goofs in it. Logan is a new partner and he never really “ribs” Tess about her quilting. And Tess’s aunt isn’t in a nursing home. She’s in the hospital. But oh well…

It’s a GREAT story! Read it! You won’t be sorry!

5star

Here is a bit more information about the book from the Quilts of Love website.

Tess has taken some ribbing from her fellow officer, Logan, for her quilting hobby. He finds it hard to align the brisk professional officer he patrols with during the day with the one who quilts in her off-time. Besides, he’s been trying to get to know her better and he’d like to be seeing her during those couple nights a week she spends with her quilting guild.

Then one afternoon Tess and Logan visit her aunt in the nursing home and she acts agitated when Tess covers her with the story quilt. Aunt Susan seems to be communicating a message to them about Tess’s uncle. There’s a story behind this quilt, they realize, one that may lead them to a serial killer. Will they have a chance to have a future together or will the killer choose Tess for his next victim before they find him?

Click HERE to get more info from the Quilts of Love website

Click HERE to go to the Litfuse page for info about the blog tour

Click HERE to go to the page on GoodReads

Click HERE to go to Barbara Cameron’s website.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity book review program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Happy Reading

And

GOD BLESS!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

