Irony and it’s anchor in God’s plan for my life.

Three things I have found lately that are equally ironic and incredible.

Dare to BELIEVEOne: I checked out a book from the library and was absolutely shocked when I got it home and started reading.

Now I know what you’re thinking… why didn’t I just read the back to see if I was interested.

Well, I’ll tell you.

Before that book, I never really needed to worry about something as gross as “vampires” with an “AMISH” fiction book.

Granted there have been Amish fiction novels I have not cared much for – but the back of those books did not give me even a hint that I would feel that way.

So I didn’t think to look. I saw the “Inspirational” sticker on the spine and I saw Amish characters on the cover so I drew the natural conclusions… And before you think I’m a dummy – the picture on the cover did not give me any real hints that there was anything about vampires inside. I figured the slightly sinister look was advertising a suspense story or a murder mystery.

I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG!

Suffice to say, I DID NOT read the book. Right back to the library it went.

Really! Did I miss something? Since when did “Amish” become synonymous with “vampire”!? Does no one stop to think before writing…much less marketing or publishing such a thing?

Yes I know it’s fiction.
Yes I know it’s not real.
What I don’t know is how anyone who genuinely loves or lives for God, could think such a thing is even a little bit appropriate!

Anyway, on to number…

Two: I was scrolling through my reviews on Amazon and I noticed that someone had clicked one of my reviews (Minding Molly) as not helpful. Well of course I was immediately curious. Amazon doesn’t tell you who didn’t like it or why but I did notice that there were several other reviews (that were along the same lines as mine) that were also marked that way. So I’m guessing someone went through and picked out several reviews that were not flowery and gushing and clicked that they were unhelpful.

Oh well, right…

Maybe if you’re someone who is completely unaffected by other people’s opinions…

I, however, am not. I work very hard on my reviews. And, in the small number of reviews I have given, in which I didn’t love the book, I still try to be positive. I point out what the writer did well, talk about any good points and then state that – while I didn’t care for the book,  someone else might.

And while I still don’t appreciate the action, I suppose I understand the irony.

I didn’t like the book. They clearly didn’t like my review.

and now for…

Three: I applied to review books for a certain publicity company awhile back (I’m not going to name them). We went back and forth with e-mails for a long time and then I finally broke through that glass ceiling – I got an invite to join. I was required to agree to their terms, which I happily did. I e-mailed my agreement and waited. …and waited. …and waited.

And… nothing.

I e-mailed a couple of times since, trying to see what happened and trying not to take the implied rejection personally. I mean, why would a person invite you to review for them and then never get back to you once you’ve accepted?

Weird – right?

Today I wandered over to their website and checked out all the books I’ve been missing all this time. And do you know what I found?

I really haven’t been missing anything. In fact, there are quite a few books that I personally object to – strongly.

Remember the library book I talked about – this one was so much worse! With the library book, I couldn’t tell just how nasty the book was from looking at the cover (although I’m starting to think that might have been better – to know, going in, what it’s all about) and at least it made some attempt to paint the evil as actual evil. The book I found on this site not only had a nasty cover, it was blatantly flying in the face of the evil…painting it very much in the “they can’t help it” light.

My first thought:

These are Christian books… REALLY!

I know the Christian genre has expanded quite a bit lately to include a selection of fantasy and sci-fi but there is still supposed to be a line… right? Somewhere there is supposed to be a line between what the world likes and what glorifies God – am I right? Or has all that just gone the way of the “old-fashioned” hymns in church?

Anyway, this leads right into the part of this post that talks about how God orchestrated all of these things to keep me on the path that he intends for me.

With the book – He is reminding me to be careful of what I bring into my life and my home.

With the comment – He is telling me that I must give my disappointments to Him. He will be my comforter and He will give me the strength I need to get past things like that.

And with the website – He is telling me that I need to be very careful about who I associate with and I need to be especially careful about who I “Promote”. By writing reviews for them and adding my expertise to their site – I am, in essence, saying that I approve of the material there.

Now I review for multiple companies and there are books on each one that I’m not terribly fond of but this one is a very different story. There are books on their list of titles that are so far beyond appropriate for Christian readers, it would be a horrendous idea for me to endorse them and it would most likely destroy my witness.

So I’m very much better off without them!

On that note, I’m also going to be looking a bit closer at the other companies I review for. And, as much as I’ll hate to miss out on good books, I certainly don’t want to promote the nasty ones.

THANK YOU GOD!

Thank you for protecting me from myself, and others around me who care nothing for my eternal soul. Thank you for loving me enough to put up with my mistakes and waiting oh so patiently for me to come to my senses. And Thank you for forgiving all the terrible things I do – that I shouldn’t.

Now a question for you…

Is there anything in your life that falls into one of the categories above? Or another…

Could God be trying to get your attention with something seemingly small?

Are you listening?

“Be what you wish others to become.”
– Amish Proverb

GOD BLESS!

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

