Goldtown Adventures Book 1 | “Badge of Honor” by Susan K. Marlow | AND A BONUS! Don’t miss it!

20140410-084121.jpgBadge of Honor is book 1 of Susan K. Marlow‘s series Goldtown Adventures.

I tried to find book 2 – Tunnel of Gold but have been unsuccessful so far. So I will be reviewing Book 1 and then books 3 & 4 for Kregel Publishing.

This is an excellent series for young children. It’s a good length for their short attention spans and I believe the story will catch their interest and not let go.

Reading about a young boy, intent on striking it rich will appeal to children of any age – especially boys.

And it’s so nice to find a good series that’s aimed at young boys. There are plenty of series written with young girls in mind but a clean, decent series that will attract the interest of young boys is hard to come by.

And… even though Jem gets himself into trouble a lot, there is a strong message of what is right weaved into the story line so the book presents both perspectives well.

Here is a bit more about the book from Kregel Publishing:

Twelve-year-old Jeremiah “Jem” Coulter knows that Goldtown, California, has seen the last of the gold rush. But the flecks of gold he and an old prospector, “Strike,” find in their played-out claim on Cripple Creek spur Jem’s hope of striking it rich. In the meantime, he and his sister, Ellie, sell frog legs and firewood to bring in extra cash.

When Jem’s father accepts a job as sheriff of lawless Goldtown, Jem is suddenly saddled with an additional responsibility–to run their broken-down ranch. He faces a hard path as he tries to be a man and make his father proud, but then Cripple Creek mysteriously dries up and Strike suddenly disappears. Jem is determined to find out why. Can anything be worse than being a sheriff’s kid? Will outlaws use his father’s badge for target practice? Is that silver star just a target . . . or truly a badge of honor?

Readers ages 8 to 14 fell in love with Susan Marlow’s Circle C Adventures. Now the same adventurous spirit and historical lure are back in a brand new series featuring a new cast of characters and exciting escapades. As educational as it is entertaining, the Goldtown Adventures series is one the whole family will enjoy.

And speaking of Kregel, they are offering a special promotion for the length of their blog tour for books 3 & 4 of this series. Don’t miss it!

During the blog tour week Kregel is offering River of Peril and Canyon of Danger to readers for free on the first day and $1.99 for the rest of the tour.

Canyon of Peril links:
Barnes & Noble
Google Play

River of Peril links:
Barnes & Noble
Google Play


For more about book 1 – Badge of Honor…

You can click HERE to read more on Kregel’s website or to buy the book.

Click HERE to see the book on HERE for GoodReads

And click HERE for Susan K. Marlow’s website.

There is also a website dedicated to this series HERE!