A review of “The Midwife” by Jolina Petersheim

The Midwife by Jolina PetersheimWhat can I say about The Midwife?

I can say this. It is not a easy story to read.

Jolina Petersheim deals with some very strong and serious issues in The Midwife and it will be a very difficult book for a lot of women to read.

In my own case, it’s exceptionally difficult and I’m certain that has colored every perception that grew from the reading of this intensely emotional story.

Am I saying not to read this book?

NO. I am not saying that at all.

In fact, if you enjoy intense drama and deep emotional turmoil, this is definitely the book for you.

In fact, Jolina’s writing is so exceptional, I was drawn into the story – even when I was thoroughly disgusted with several different things about it.

I know it’s probably silly but I don’t care for the cover at all. In fact, I almost didn’t request it because of the cover alone but you know the old adage – “Never judge a book by it’s cover.”

I don’t care for the back and forth way the story is told – it’s difficult to keep up with and it seems unnecessary once the “big revelation” is made (not saying anymore than that), but it continues to the last chapter. It took me almost to the end of the book to understand why it has to be this way but I don’t care for it nonetheless.

I really don’t care much for Rhoda Mummau at all. She is not at all what she is supposed to be. Yes, she is human and humans make mistakes so her character is very believable and that is another thing that shows Jolina’s skill as a writer. We don’t have to like main characters for them to be written well.

So… What did I like about the story? That one is a tough question to answer without giving too much away. There are a lot of things revealed throughout the story that gave insight into why our characters are the way they are and I LOVE that Jolina put those tidbits in. Again, it just goes to show her depth as a writer. She knows that out characters have to have flaws to be “real”. And she doesn’t hesitate to paint them in vivid detail.

I liked the ending. I wish there had been more of it but I did like where everything ended up. I was very afraid for a long time that I was going to hate the ending so it was a vindication for my pushing on to the end to see where it all went. It wasn’t a perfect little fairy tale happy ending but it fit the story very well.

I liked how Jolina brought to many different things in to affect the characters lives. Without these small details and events, it would have been far too dry. But Jolina clearly knew what she was doing and brought in enough details to fill out the story and give it life.

 

Here is what Tynedale has to say about The Midwife:

Since the day Rhoda Mummau was baptized into the Old Order Mennonite Church and became the head midwife of Hopen Haus, she’s been torn between the needs of the unwed mothers under her care and her desire to conceal the secrets of her past. Contact with the outside world could provide medical advantages, but remaining secluded in the community gives her the anonymity she craves.

Graduate student Beth Winslow is on a path she never would have chosen. Heartbroken after surrendering a baby to adoption, she devotes herself to her studies until she becomes pregnant again, this time as a surrogate. But when early tests indicate possible abnormalities, Beth is unprepared for the parents’ decision to end the pregnancy—and for the fierce love she feels for this unborn child. Desperate, she flees the city and seeks refuge at Hopen House.

Past and present collide when a young woman named Amelia arrives to the sweeping countryside bearing secrets of her own. As Amelia’s due date draws near, Rhoda must face her past and those she thought she had left behind in order for the healing power of love and forgiveness to set them all free.

For more from Tynedale about The Midwife, click HERE

For ChristianBook.com, click HERE   For GoodReads, click HERE

To visit Jolina Petersheim’s website, click HERE

 

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

Disclaimer: I received the book free from the Tynedale Blogger program
in exchange for an honest review.

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

2 thoughts on “A review of “The Midwife” by Jolina Petersheim

    1. I’m so glad to hear that. I always worry when my review isn’t just glowing.

      You are such an amazing writer. I KNOW I could not write the depth of emotion you do. And you tackle such difficult themes. I am in awe of your talent.

      Like

Comments are closed.