Author Spotlight: Jennifer Beckstrand | Author of delightfully charming Amish Romances | Don’t miss this chance to win her new book!

Who has read Jennifer Beckstrand’s new book Huckleberry Hill  the first book in Jennifer’s the Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill series yet? What about the second book in the series, which was just released – Huckleberry Summer…?

Want to know some of the back-story behind the series?

Keep reading!

 

But first… details on the giveaway!

 

All you have to do is reply to this post. On Thursday, July 3rd we (my son) will pick a winner and notify them ASAP!

Rules – I know, I know, but we’ve got to have some…

  • One entry per person!
  • No spam please.
  • The contest begins TODAY and will run until Thursday, July 3rd at midnight CDT!
  • My contest is not run by rafflecopter or random.org or any other site. The form above will e-mail me when someone enters and I will be drawing the winner’s name out of a hat (actually my son has that pleasure this time around).
  • The winner will be notified by e-mail and announced here on my blog, on Facebook and on Twitter.

 

PLEASE share the contest! Post it on Facebook. Tweet about it. Re-blog this post. Send them this way. (not really a rule – just a request, and it does not affect your chances of winning. It’s just MUCH appreciated!)

 

And read her books – whether you win or not. They’re wonderful!

 

 

Now…

For the spotlight!

Jennifer Beckstrand was the second author I interviewed so she gets to go next in my NEW AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT! And don’t miss my SURPRISE AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT coming in two days!

 

A bit about Jennifer Beckstrand via her WEBSITE:


I grew up with a steady diet of William Shakespeare and Jane Austen. After all that literary immersion, I naturally decided to get a degree in mathematics, which came in handy when one of my six children needed help with homework. After my fourth daughter was born, I started writing. By juggling diaper changes, soccer games, music lessons, laundry, and two more children, I finished my first manuscript—a Western—in just under fourteen years.

I have always been fascinated by the Amish way of life and now write Inspirational Amish Romance. I am drawn to the strong faith of the Plain people and admire the importance they put on enduring family ties. I have visited and studied Amish communities in Pennsylvania and Wisconsin where I met with a bishop and a minister as well as several Amish mamms, dats, and children. It has always impressed me at what salt-of-the-earth people they are. My interactions with these kind people have been some of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I have a dear Amish friend with whom I correspond in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. She helps me keep my facts straight and gives me inspiration for my stories.

My goal is to write uplifting, inspiring stories with happy endings and hopeful messages. If my books make readers want to give themselves a big hug or jump up and down for joy, I’ve done my job. I am a member of Romance Writers of America and American Christian Fiction Writers and am represented by Mary Sue Seymour of The Seymour Agency.

 

 

 

And here is my interview with Jennifer Beckstrand: This interview focuses on Jennifer’s NEWEST book: “Huckleberry Summer” – the 2nd book in her Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill series.

 

Is there any particular inspiration behind the Huckleberry Hill series for you?

We all want our children and grandchildren to be happy. I love the idea of two Amish grandparents making matches for their grandchildren and giving them a chance at a happily ever after. Anna Helmuth, the adorable and tenacious grandmother in Huckleberry Hill and Huckleberry Summer, is a little bit like my mother. She’s such a delightful character to write because she’s without guile, and she is always doing something surprising and funny.

 

Are any of the characters modeled after real people you know? Family/ friends?

Besides my mom, there aren’t many characters in the Huckleberry Hill series modeled after people I know. I definitely take personality traits from my friends and family and use them to craft three-dimensional characters. The one character from Huckleberry Summer based off someone in real life is Aden Helmuth’s dog, Pilot. Pilot is based on my neighbor’s dog of the same name. They are both goldendoodles, they both have unruly fur, and they are both puppies at heart. Both Pilots are irresistibly lovable. Lily Eicher doesn’t like dogs, but she can’t help falling in love with Pilot, and his master. 🙂

 

You recently wrote that you were finishing up edits on book 5 in the series. Will that be the last one or are there more planned?

So far there are six books in the works in the Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill series. Huckleberry Hill and Huckleberry Summer have been released. Huckleberry Christmas comes out in October. Huckleberry Christmas is about a character in Huckleberry Summer who deserves his own love story. Three more books come out in 2015: Huckleberry Spring, Huckleberry Harvest, and Huckleberry Hearts. I’m so excited for all of them. After that, Anna and Felty Helmuth have a lot of grandchildren. They might just be matchmaking well into their nineties.

 

Do you already have another series planned/ in the works/ pitched? If yes, Would you tell us a little about it?

I have about a dozen ideas for books in my head, including a Western historical series, a cozy mystery, and a romantic fantasy. I’m not sure where my writing will take me next. I’ll keep you posted.

 

 

BE SURE TO CHECK OUT JENNIFER’S

 

WEBSITE                FACEBOOK               TWITTER

 

FOR NEWS, UPDATES AND OTHER OPPORTUNITIES TO WIN!

 

 

I’m going to do Jennifer’s most recent releases a little differently because there are two fairly new books in the same series – so I’m just going to highlight both.

 

The Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill

 

The Helmuths’ thirteen children are grown and moved away. Anna and Felty Helmuth, full of vinegar and spice, are looking to stir up a little excitement. What could be more fun than throwing two young people together to see if sparks ignite? And who would ever suspect two elderly Amish folks of mischief? With a little help from the Helmuths, Huckleberry Hill could turn out to be the most romantic spot in Wisconsin.

 

 

Huckleberry Hill – Book 1

Huckleberry Hill-1

Lia Shetler is resigned to being a spinster. She’s too tall and sturdy to ever be marriageable–so says her overbearing dat. Instead, she’s helping her pretty, spoiled sister Rachel secure the perfect husband–the Helmuth’s grandson, Moses Zimmerman. But the more Lia sees of Moses’s gently teasing ways and quiet understanding, the more she wishes he could be hers alone.

Moses knew his grandparents couldn’t resist trying to find him a wife. But he never expected it would be the graceful, sensible Lia–a woman who is tall enough to look him in the eye and honest enough to make him question a promise holding him to his past. Now both will need the kind of miracles only faith and courage can bring to finally reach for a lifetime of happiness.

 

 

 

 

 

Huckleberry Summer – Book 2

Huckleberry Summer

 

Cautious to a fault, Lily Eicher strives to live up to her dat’s high standards. She’s certainly not the kind of proper Amish girl who would make time for someone as impetuous as the Helmuths’ grandson, Aden–even if his lively spirit and caring ways are showing her just how wonderful following her heart can be. . .

Recklessly doing the right thing got Aden into big trouble. A fresh start at his grandparents’ is just what he needs. And shy, pretty Lily is turning his world upside down and making him want to prove he can do good within the rules. But now both must find enough faith and understanding to risk pursuing their dreams–together. . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

AND the following titles are COMING SOON!

 

Huckleberry Christmas–Book 3

Huckleberry Christmas Cover
Young widow Beth Hostetler has come to Huckleberry Hill to start afresh and make her own way without the interference of her late husband’s family. In addition to a feisty toddler, Beth has dresses to sew, cows to milk, and great-grandparents to care for. She doesn’t have the time or the inclination to entertain thoughts of a husband, even if every widower and bachelor in Wisconsin seeks her hand. Her first marriage to a harsh, demanding man was hard enough. She is perfectly happy being alone, not answering to anyone but God. Tyler Yoder is no different than the rest. With his infuriating sense of duty, he sees Beth as a woman in need of rescuing. His offer of marriage doesn’t tempt her in the least, but his handsome face and kind heart just might. Will this be the Christmas that she finally finds love?

After having been burned by love once, Tyler Yoder has given up on the whole idea of romance. He simply wants a godly wife with whom he can share companionship and the load of daily living. Beth Hostetler comes along at just the right time. She’s a hard worker, an excellent mother, and a beauty, to boot. And, with a son to raise, she needs a man’s protection. But when Beth spurns Tyler’s marriage proposal and offers to help him find a proper Amish wife, Tyler realizes where his affections really lie. Will he be able to convince Beth that love is at the heart of his persistence? And will she accept his heart for Christmas?

 

A Perfect Amish Christmas

an-amish-christmas-quilt_sm
A collection of short novellas from three of your favorite Amish authors to get you in the Christmas spirit. Available in October!

Anna and Felty Helmuth’s grandson, Gideon, plans to spend Christmas on a beach in sunny Mexico. But Anna is quite sure he’d rather be with them, snowshoeing, ice fishing—falling in love. And she knows the perfect girl. Not only is Dottie Schrock an excellent quilter and baker, she’s having a party. There’s just one complication—Gideon is not invited. Dottie has her reasons, but Anna trusts that the spirit of Christmas—and true love-will change her mind, and her future …

 

 

 

THANK YOU for joining me for this special AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT!

 

HAPPY READING! 

And

GOD BLESS!

Don’t forget to check back or follow my blog to see new reviews –
there’s a new one up almost every day!

8 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Jennifer Beckstrand | Author of delightfully charming Amish Romances | Don’t miss this chance to win her new book!

  1. Love Jennifer’s books! I just read Huckleberry Hill and am looking forward to Huckleberry Summer.

    Like

  2. This was a really nice interview with Jennifer. I have recently read Huckleberry Hill and am looking forward to reading Huckleberry Summer and Huckleberry Christmas. The characters are warm, funny and delightful!

    Like

  3. I haven’t had a chance to read this one yet, would love to win it. I also really like the cover, the dog is just too cute. I enjoy Jennifer’s books!

    Like

Comments are closed.