Even when the answer is no…

Recently I was lamenting (complaining…) to my mother that I just didn’t know what was going on with this crazy situation. And, while I have to say I am still more than a little perplexed, I am glad to be able to take a step back and look at the bigger picture.

What am I talking about…?

Well, you all know I review books. In fact, I review a LOT of books for several different companies, two different street teams and various authors seeking influencers. I love to read and people really seem to love my reviews so it seems like a no-brainer.

 

And now it seems like a major downer. A certain company I review for (they WILL remain nameless because it wouldn’t be nice or Christian to point fingers) has decided to deny me for multiple tours I’ve signed up for recently.

Now, if this was the norm for how my relationship has been with them to date… I wouldn’t wonder – I would be looking at the situation very differently but it’s not… at all. Up to now, I have only ever been denied for 1, yes that’s right – 1 tour. To be fair, I don’t sign up for every single tour that comes through my inbox. First I don’t sign up for a book if I don’t think I will enjoy it. Second, who has time to be a mom, home-school, write full-time and review three or four books every day.

Not me!

So I only sign up for tours I am interested in. I do this with every single company – that’s why you don’t see me reviewing a lot for some of them. Not that they don’t publish quality books… they do. But nobody likes every book or every genre.

At any rate, I’m rambling now.

 

So how did I handle this rejection? Well… my spiritual gift is Mercy so I cried. This is why I have had so much trouble with the query process. Every single rejection feels very personal and devastating… so I cried. And then I ranted a bit. And then I realized there must be a reason for this. The rejection isn’t personal. It’s God’s will – And I need to respect that.

So I have accepted it – well I’m working on it anyway… I’m a mercy! We don’t let go of things easily.
But I’m trying to remember that God’s answer is always the best one. So maybe it’s that He knows I’m going to have more than I can handle elsewhere coming up soon. Or maybe I need more time to write or more time with the family. Who knows… well He does.

As difficult as it is for me to take a “No.” as anything other than a personal rejection, I don’t know all of the circumstances so I’m going to have to find a way to let it go and go on.

