Hidden in the Stars by Robin Caroll | Quilts of Love #21

Hidden in the StarsRobin Caroll is an incredibly talented author.

Unfortunately… for me and my tender heart…

I have to admit, the thing that drew me to this book was the cover. I’ve always loved ballet – never had the balance to even try it but I love watching it and my daughter has immense talent but she has decided it is not something she wants to pursue so we just watch.

But the cover will fool you. This is not a sweet little romance.

At least one other reviewer has touted this book as an “easy read” and my reaction to that is “Are you kidding me!”

“Hidden in the Stars” is an intense, terrifying, emotional journey through humanity’s best… and worst.

If you have anywhere near the tender heart that I do, along with being absolutely riveted, the vivid details will have your stomach in knots and your emotions in a blender… on the first page!

Just when you think things can’t possibly get any worse… they do. And then they do again.

And then they do again.

Don’t get me wrong… I’m not saying the book is not worth reading. I’m just warning anyone who has a tender heart – to be prepared.

The fact is, as much as the story churned me up, I could not stop reading! I just kept going and going and going!

This certainly speaks to Robin Caroll’s skill and talent as a writer because usually when a book affects me this way, I DON’T keep reading.

So, read it but be prepared for the emotional turmoil and vivid descriptions of Sophia’s memories of the brutal attack that stole her mother and her career from her.

This is certainly not a book I could write. The dedication and hard work that went into her research… And the skill it took to write something with such depth and realism! WOW!

 

Here is what Abingdon Press has to say about the book:

A quilt holds the secret to a killer still at large—and who his next victim will be.

Following an attack that killed her mother and stole her ability to speak, 21‑year‑old Sophia Montgomery has no choice but to accept her estranged grandmother’s offer to return to their family home. Although detective Julian Frazier is working hard on the case, Sophia unknowingly frustrates him because her inability to speak thwarts her eyewitness evidence. The fact that Julian is undeniably attracted to Sophia doesn’t help either, so Julian hides his feelings as concern for a trauma victim and focuses instead on finding the killer.

Little do they know, the clues to solving the case may be right in front of them, displayed in Sophia’s mother’s “special” quilt design. Who will realize the secret Sophia’s unwittingly been hiding in plain sight? When the truth comes to light, will Sophia find her voice again? Or will the murderer—still at large—silence her forever?

 

 

You can find more information and/or pre-order the book from these popular sites.

GOODREADS   QUILTS OF LOVE   ABINGDON PRESS   ROBIN’S WEBSITE

AMAZON   BARNES & NOBLE   COKESBURY   CHRISTIANBOOK

 

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review
from the Litfuse blogger program .

 

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

 

I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

