My review of “An Amish Christmas Quilt” by Charlotte Hubbard, Kelly Long and Jennifer Beckstrand | Stop #3 of my Salute to Christmas Reads!

 

WHAT could be better than three stories in one by three AMAZING Authors!

The answer is NOTHING!

Three terrific authors, three fantastic stories!

 

I have not read all of the stories in Charlotte Hubbard/Naomi King’s Amish series but this story makes me want to!

WOW!

GREAT writing, interesting characters, intriguing story!

What else could you ask for…

Oh yeah, ROMANCE!

I have to admit, I read some not so Christian romances years and years ago and I never would have expected to be able to truly get caught up in the romance of a book that is so very straight-laced (and if anyone fits that category, it’s the Amish)

But I’m thrilled to discover how wrong I was!

In fact, the best thing about these wonderful stories is that you get to focus entirely on the romantic aspects without getting caught up in all the worldly nonsense.

Charlotte Hubbard does this really well but she also brings in aspects that those of us who are NOT Amish deal with every day – such as step-parents and what they deal with, how a woman who has just lost her husband gets along, and the way a man can get wrapped up in a situation without even fully realizing what he had gotten into.

 

This will actually be the first story of Kelly Long’s that I’ve ever read.

Who knew the Amish could feud?

Again, Kelly introduces us to situations that are distinctly Amish but that we as English can associate with too!

Kelly pulls us right into the story about two young people in love. It’s not quite Romeo and Juliet because the Amish would never go to such lengths but the story is much the same – feuding fathers, forbidden love, sneaking about – which is actually how most communities go about courting anyway, and the like.

It’s not a story you’ll want to miss and I’m not about to spoil it for you. It’s actually really tricky to review because it’s so easy to go on about how great it is but if I get too much into that, I’m going to end up giving something away and I won’t do that. It’s too good to ruin it for you!

But I will say this, it’s WELL-WORTH reading!

And don’t miss Kelly’s next book: The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain!

 

Yes, I’ve saved the best (in my own personal opinion) for last…

Jennifer Beckstrand returns once again to Bonduel, Wisconsin, entertaining us with her colorful characters and the ridiculous things they get into!

No one writes about the Amish the way Jennifer does. No other stories makes me laugh out loud the way hers do and not one other book…or family… makes me wish more that I were actually Amish.

Anna and Felty are at it again…

We actually get a look at Anna and Felty’s daughter in this one and her affection for her wild and wacky parents is just as deep as you always imagined it would be.

And it’s not at all a surprise that Gideon’s father doesn’t quite understand his wife’s slightly odd parents and their ideas.

I always say the one I’ve just read is my new favorite and I hold steady to that… except to make one small amendment: Whichever book of Jennifer Beckstrand’s that I am reading at the moment is my absolute favorite! They’re just that good!

I can hardly wait for the next one!

 

 

More from Kensington about An Amish Christmas Quilt:

With all the warmth of a cozy quilt, three authors stitch together Amish tales of hearts joined, friendships patched, and the bright joys of Christmas tradition . . .

A Willow Ridge Christmas Pageant
Charlotte Hubbard

Seth Brenneman didn’t expect his holiday would include rescuing pregnant young Mary Kauffman and her two children. . .or having unexpected feelings for the still-grieving widow. But when they must play the leads in an impromptu live Nativity pageant to help his Amish community, will their roles reveal their hearts–and work a miracle for a lifetime?

A Christmas On Ice Mountain
Kelly Long

Matthew Beider and Laurel Lapp’s secret wish to marry is a gift their feuding fathers definitely won’t accept. And trying to settle their dats’ long-standing quarrel is making their holiday anything but merry. Can rediscovering the joys and friendships of Christmas past finally turn their families’ futures bright?

A Perfect Amish Christmas
Jennifer Beckstrand

Anna and Felty Helmuth’s grandson, Gideon, plans to spend Christmas on a beach in sunny Mexico. But Anna is quite sure he’d rather be with them, snowshoeing, ice fishing–falling in love. And she knows the perfect girl. Not only is Dottie Schrock an excellent quilter and baker, she’s having a party. There’s just one complication–Gideon is not invited. Dottie has her reasons, but Anna trusts that the spirit of Christmas–and true love–will change her mind, and her future . . .

 

 

You can find more information and/or buy the book from these popular sites.

GOODREADS   KENSINGTON

CHARLOTTE’S (aka Naomi King) WEBSITE   JENNIFER’S WEBSITE   KELLY’S FB PAGE

AMAZON   BARNES & NOBLE   ITUNES

 

GOD BLESS!

AND

HAPPY READING!

 

I was provided this book free through Jennifer’s street team in exchange for an HONEST review!
(not hard to be honest about how AMAZING her books are!)

 

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.

I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

 

