At Bluebonnet Lake by Amanda Cabot | I know… I know… Another book that’s not a Christmas story. Romance works any time of year!

 

The reviews on this book run the gamut from love to hate to ehh

Several comments were made about formatting in one review I read – and while it was later revealed to have been a digital ARC (which would explain the typos and funky formatting), I can understand how it would make the book difficult to read.

Part of what writers are told over and over and over again is that we must get our spelling, grammar and wording right so that our readers are not pulled out of the story world!

I was fortunate enough to have a paperback copy of the book (not an ARC) so I did not have these problems – thankfully!

And I believe many other reviewers who didn’t love the book had a problem because they had read Amanda Cabot’s historical fiction. That can be a difficult transition but perhaps it was only easier for me because I have never read Amanda Cabot’s historical fiction.

I LOVE the idea of the book! A Christian resort. And hey, isn’t part of the fun of a getaway… to get away! No cell service certainly sounds like just the thing!

Of course for a spunky gal who is married to her job – I can understand being bugged by a serious lack of cell service!

Amanda certainly has the characters pegged! And as far as I can tell, she didn’t have any difficulty transitioning from Historical fiction to contemporary!

I’ve also noticed several people having issues with “Grandma” taking such a central role in the story but I have to say I find it refreshing! Too many people overlook our fantastic matriarchs (and patriarchs)!

psst… another series I just LOVE features a spunky Grandma and Grandpa – and they are my favorite part of each book!

 

 

Here is what Baker Publishing says about At Bluebonnet Lake:

Her life is set to warp speed. His is slowing to a crawl. But love has its own timing.

Marketing maven Kate Sherwood’s world is fast-paced, challenging, and always changing. The last thing she wants to do is grind to a halt at Rainbow’s End, a dilapidated resort in the Texas Hill Country. Still, she cannot deny her ailing grandmother’s request to visit the place where she and her deceased husband spent one glorious week fifty years ago. There, Kate meets Greg, who appears to be the resort’s unassuming handyman. But there’s more to Greg than meets the eye–billions more, in fact.

Kate isn’t looking for romance, but she can’t deny the sparks of attraction that fly every time she and Greg are together. Could there be a future there? Or will Kate’s long-sought promotion take her back to the big city?

Amanda Cabot invites you to step into a place away from the pressures of the day. You might be surprised by what you find at Rainbow’s End.

 

You can find more information and/or buy the book from these popular sites.

GOODREADS   BAKER PUBLISHING GROUP/REVELL   AMANDA’S WEBSITE

AMAZON   BARNES & NOBLE   CHRISTIANBOOKS   ITUNES

I received this book free in exchange for an honest review from Revell Reads!

THANKS Revell!

God Bless!
and
Happy Reading!

I have no control over the ads you may see below.

I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

