The Bargain | Plain City Peace – Book 1 | Stephanie Reed

 

The Bargain - Stephanie Reed

A side of the Amish I’d never “seen” before…

WOW! Stephanie Reed is an AMAZING writer!

Reading The Bargain, It feels as if I’ve been transported to the 70s!

Since I was born in 1979, I didn’t really have the chance to experience them. Thanks to movies and television, I’ve had a glimpse but there’s something different about reading a book written about the era. It gives you an immersion that movies simply can not accomplish.

And this book shows the Amish as I have never seen them – as many readers of popular Amish fiction probably have not. Why – because most Amish fiction is written about the plain people of today…

Even the few historical books written about the plain people, up to now, have focused on the time they put down roots in this country or even when they were on their way here from across the ocean.

Stephanie Reed gives us a glimpse into an era of our country that marked great change for everyone – from a perspective that has certainly not been covered before (to my knowledge anyway).

I applaud her skill – it’s clear she did her research! I am in awe of her writing – not only is an incredibly difficult subject to tackle, but she’s done it from an angle that offers little or no precedence. And I am in love with her characters! Betsie and Sheila and Michael and Charley… Oh if get started, I’ll never stop! They’re wonderful! Just read it!

And how exciting that the 2nd book is out as well! I’m so thrilled I don’t have to wait to read it.

Of course I’ll have to wait for the third book so… if you hear a wail of agony in a day or so… that’s just me – I’ve finished the second one and I’m lamenting the long wait until The Bride – book 3 in the Plain City Peace series – coming winter 2016!

 

A bit more from Kregel about The Bargain:

It’s 1971, and Betsie Troyer’s peaceful and predictable life is about to become anything but.

When their parents flee the Amish, nineteen-year-old Betsie and her seventeen-year-old sister Sadie are distraught. Under the dubious guidance of a doting aunt, the girls struggle to keep the secret, praying their parents will return before anyone learns the truth—a truth that may end all hopes of Betsie’s marriage to Charley Yoder.

Worse still, Betsie must learn a trade while she boards with a dysfunctional Englisher family: Sheila, a twelve-year-old desperately searching for a friend and in dire need of her mother; the free-spirited mother, who runs off to “find herself” on the stage; the angry father whose structured life crumbles; and Michael, a troubled college dropout nearly killed in the Kent State Massacre.

Thrust into the English world, Betsie must grapple with the realities of war and miniskirts, pot parties and police brutality, protests and desertion. Can she help the Sullivan family and find peace in her new surroundings, or must she forget the bargain she made and seek refuge back in Plain City with protective and reliable Charley?

WOW! Right…?

And you can click the links below to find out more/buy the book!

GOODREADS   KREGEL   STEPHANIE REED’S FACEBOOK PAGE

AMAZON   CHRISTIANBOOK   BARNES & NOBLE

 

GOD BLESS

and

HAPPY READING!

 

 

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

 

 

