“An Uncertain Choice” by Jody Hedlund | YA DEBUT

 

Well, I’ll say this… Jody Hedlund excels at starting things off with a bang!

Let me say this also – if you are at all squeamish, have a weak stomach or a sensitive nature, you might want to rethink this read.

 

I can hardly believe it’s classified as young adult because the opening chapter alone is certainly not what I would present to a young audience.

But then, Jody has 10+ books under her belt so she may know more about it than me – so don’t just take my word for it.

Despite being too much for my tender Mercy’s heart, the book is incredibly well-written. In fact, it was all I could do to put it down… even when I was more than a little bothered by the content.

And possibly young adults today are more mature than I am giving them credit for and are perfectly able to handle such things but I know I am not and I’m 35.

Of course I discovered that when I tried to read about WWII…

Certain authors understand the squeamishness of their audience and write in such a way to show the horrors of real life without making it quite so descriptive.

This is not the first story of Jody Hedlund’s I have read and it certainly won’t be the last. I am nearly obsessed with her new lighthouse series and I look forward to each and every one so she has not lost me as a reader… just maybe not of her medievel series.

By the way, I’m giving the book 3 stars because – even though it’s not for me – it is exceptionally well-written. It would have been 4 but I’m still not certain this particular story is suitable for young adults and I hope the 3 stars will catch more attention and perhaps more readers will see my warning.

Review © JCMorrows 2015

 

 

 

 

 

{MORE ABOUT AN UNCERTAIN CHOICE}

Due to her parents’ promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, a month before her birthday, a friend of her father’s enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents’ will left a second choice. If Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow.

Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the competition for her heart seemingly results in a knight playing foul, she begins to wonder if the cloister is the best place after all. If only one of the knights the one who appears the most guilty had not already captured her heart.

Jody Hedlund is a best-selling and award-winning author who loves fairy- tales and happily-ever-afters. She makes her home in Midland, MI with her husband and five children. When she’s not writing another of her page-turning stories, you can usually find her sipping coffee, eating chocolate, and reading.

You can also find more information and/or buy the book from these popular sites:

GOODREADS   ZONDERVAN   JODY‘S WEBSITE

Buy from Amazon.
Buy from Barnes and Noble.
Buy from Christian Book Distributor.
Buy from iBooks.

 

I received the book free from the BookLook blogger program
in exchange for an honest review.

 

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see below.
I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.

2 thoughts on ““An Uncertain Choice” by Jody Hedlund | YA DEBUT

  1. ….as an addenum to the above, I don’t thnk I’ve ever found any reference to the use of some of the methods of torture outlined in the novel in Medieval England. As a result of that, it just came across as- exaggerated and unrealistic….more like something you’d see in a cartoon, or Monty Python movie…

    Like

  2. I have also read this book, and felt that there was far too much emphasis on torture. For me, this was a historical accuracy issue, as well as a content one, because torture, and particularly the methods of torture outlined in this book were nothing like as common as it made out in it in Medieval England at least.

    To me it was really just OTT. Its almost like , because a book is set in the Middle Ages, there’s this notion that is ‘has to’ involve torture and violence. I find that disappointing, as there were many other aspects of that period that would make a good story.

    Like

Comments are closed.