Be careful little fingers what you type…

During her Bible Study picnic this morning, my daughter was singing the children’s song that inspired my post title.

 

I would just like to take this opportunity to remind reviewers everywhere how important it is to be careful what you put in your reviews.

Yes, we know you are excited about the book!

No, we know most of you would NEVER spoil a book for readers on purpose!

However… when writing up your review, it is always a good idea to have the book handy. A good rule of thumb is this: if it’s not in the back cover blurb, don’t reveal it in your review.

There are times when authors will also reveal bonus scenes – especially in a series or a long-awaited release – but again… that is up to the author, not the reviewer.

And if the author reveals bonus info, it’s fair game. You can even quote the author and link back to their post. They’ll love that because it’s like double exposure.

 

If you’ve read many of my reviews, you’ll know I once had a book spoiled for me.

If that reviewer had mentioned they had spoilers in their review, I NEVER would have read it… and it was all I could do to finish the book.I was glad I did because there was so much more to the story than what was revealed in the review but it was not the same.

… and the experience has had two unfortunate side effects:

1 – I don’t read reviews anymore until AFTER I’ve read the book. This means I don’t find new books to read often – unless it’s from a person I trust not to spoil it for me.

2 – I don’t often share others reviews – which is sad because there are some really great ones out there – but since it bothers me to even read reviews until after I’ve read the book, and I don’t usually NEED to read them by that time, I miss out on the good with the bad.

 

So be careful reviewers; what you type…

 

GOD BLESS!

© JCMorrows 2015

