The Gifting Series by K. E. Ganshert (aka Katie Ganshert)

I am going to review BOTH books; The Gifting and The Awakening in this one post because I’m too excited about the series not to!

And please excuse the silent scream in the background as I write… TORTURED because I WANT THE NEXT BOOK!!!!!!

Never judge a book by it’s synopsis!

OH MY WORD! The synopsis doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of this AMAZING story!

However, I will say; that first line is INTRIGUING…

“If science is right, then I am crazy. And crazy is dangerous.”

See… intriguing.

Immediately, you want to know what she means. I mean – I know there are crazy people in the world who are dangerous but what exactly is it that makes her crazy and how is it dangerous?

For most people, that would be all they need but I have to tell you, at this point, that it took me a long time to decide I should read the book – simply because of the game mentioned in the synopsis.

I’m not a fan… well, Tess isn’t either. YAY!

Anyway, I SOOOO should have given in and read this long ago – when it first came out. Of course, I would have been absolutely insane waiting a month for the next book… especially considering I have nearly three months until “The Gathering” is available and I’m already going nuts!

If you are at all a fan of science fiction, dystopian, fantasy or speculative fiction – this is not a book to miss! Actually, if you enjoy adventure, mystery or magical realism – you would love this book too!

It is just an AMAZING book! I simply can’t say it enough!

Katie (K.E.) will have you glued to your seat and your nose buried in the story while you’re up to your ears in our heroine’s confusion and devastation!

 

“If science is right, then I am crazy. And crazy is dangerous.” – K.E. GanshertTweet this!

 

Review © JCMorrows 2015

5star

GOODREADS | AMAZON | ITUNES | K.E. GANSHERT’S WEBSITE

USA TODAY ARTICLE

A bit more about the book via GoodReads:

“If science is right, then I am crazy. And crazy is dangerous.”

Tess Eckhart has always felt things nobody else can feel. Then the Ouija board incident happens at a high school party. Her complete freakout sends her family across the country—next to a nationally-renowned facility for the mentally ill. Worried that Tess suffers from the same illness that tormented her grandmother, her parents insist she see a psychiatrist.

But Tess is more concerned about fitting in at her new school, and hiding the fact that she’s seeing a therapist at the Edward Brooks Facility. She’s used to whispers and stares, but when it comes to Luka Williams, a reluctantly popular boy in her class, she’s unused to a stare that intense. Then the headaches start, and the seemingly prophetic dreams that haunt her at night. As Tess tries to hide them, she becomes increasingly convinced that Luka knows something—that he might somehow be responsible.

But what if she’s wrong? What if Luka Williams is the only thing separating her from a madness too terrifying to fathom?

The Awakening

Here is where the screaming comes in…

First, it was incredibly difficult not to scream at anyone who dared interrupt me while I was reading this book.

I ignored my phone. I ignored my e-mail. I ignored everything. Fortunately, my children were happily playing or watching a movie during much of this time.

Second, when I reached the end of that last chapter – it was incredibly difficult to make myself do a silent scream – like the one I talked about earlier – which I had to do because everyone else was asleep.

DON’T THEY REALIZE how devastating it was! Surely they would have forgiven me. Surely they would have understood.

No, I’m sure they would not. They would have groused and told me to get over myself and go to sleep.

But the story was over… AND I DIDN’T WANT IT TO BE!

Then… third… when Katie (K.E.) teased me with the openings of book 3.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

The agony of that tiny little peek into a story so immediately intriguing – I could hardly stand to put the book down when I’d reached the end. It was physically painful and it was all I could do not to scream and kick my feet.

No, I didn’t remember that I’m too old for tantrums – I remembered how grumpy my family can be when they’re woken up. So I checked my e-mail until I had calmed down enough to sleep.

And now I’m chomping at the bit to get the next book… yes, again!

I’ve subscribed to K.E.’s Newsletter so that I can’t possibly miss the news!

Counting the days… impatiently.

 

“I can’t go home. It’s not safe. Nowhere is.” – K.E. GanshertTweet this!

 

Review © JCMorrows 2015

5star

GOODREADSAMAZONITUNESK.E. GANSHERT’S WEBSITE

A bit more about The Awakening:

I can’t go home. It’s not safe. Nowhere is.

Tess Eckhart isn’t crazy. She’s not suffering from psychosis. She and Luka Williams are part of The Gifting. Before they can find out what that means, the man with all the answers turns up dead. The only thing he left behind? A few patient files that lead to the nation’s most lawless city.

With authorities chasing them, Luka and Tess escape into the very heart of peril and against all odds, find an underground community of people just like them. They aren’t gathered together for the sole purpose of survival, either. They have a plan and a purpose–to awaken as many people with The Gifting as possible. It’s dangerous and deadly work. Tess wants to help. Luka is desperate to keep her safe–a task that proves increasingly difficult as Tess’s gifting comes to light.

Is Tess Eckhart the One they’ve been waiting for? The One with the power to save them all?

 

DO NOT MISS THIS SERIES!

 

Disclaimer: I did NOT receive either of these books free in exchange for an honest review! I (well actually my mum) BOUGHT them both!

But I had to share my opinion of two such amazing books with you – my readers!

And also laugh hysterically because there are probably a dozen traditional publishers who are grinding their teeth in frustration that they missed the chance to make a TON of money off this series!

HA HA HA!

