“Love Unexpected” | Book 1 of Jody Hedlund’s Beacons of Hope Series


Love Unexpected is the first full-length novel in Jody Hedlund’s Beacons of Hope series!

If you have not read her novella intro; Out of the Storm, go snag it and read it BEFORE you read this one! It’s a FREE novella and you can’t get much better than FREE!

I have to be honest – the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis for this book was a memory of sitting with my mother as she read Janette Oke’s “Love Comes Softly” – woman stranded… in need of protection and shelter. Man with a young child… in need of a wife. Marriage seems like the best idea so they get “hitched”.

But even those similarities are worlds apart.

What a wonderful story! What an intriguing plot! What amazingly complex characters!

A love of lighthouses doesn’t hurt either…

A MUST READ for fans of Jody’s work!


And here is a bit more about Love Unexpected:

A Perfect Blend of History and Romance, with a Whisper of Mystery

All she’s ever wanted was a home. But stranded at Presque Isle port after their steamboat sank, Emma Chambers and her brother, Ryan, couldn’t be farther away from security. While Ryan at least can find work, Emma can’t even find a place to stay. An unlikely solution arises when the lighthouse keeper, who recently lost his wife and is struggling to raise his young son, arrives in town. A traveling preacher believes they might be the answer to each others’ problems, and after a hasty marriage, Emma is headed back to the lighthouse with this handsome but quiet stranger.

But nothing in her wandering life has prepared her for suddenly being asked to raise a child and keep a house. Struggling at every turn, Emma also suspects Patrick may be keeping something hidden from her. In town she hears whispers about strange circumstances surrounding his previous wife’s death, and it seems as though Emma’s answered prayer for a home and family may actually be something much more dangerous.


And watch for my next review. I’ll be talking about the next book in this series – the second full-length book; Hearts Made Whole.


Review © JCMorrows 2015