Midnight Sun has arrived! Finally!

Maybe it’s because I’m an author… Maybe it’s because I write fantasy… Maybe it’s just because I have never been one to take the word of others on whether or not something is good… Or maybe it’s just because it really is a GREAT book – and a LOT of people are missing out on why!

And… YES! These custom jackets from Juniper Books are on my wishlist!

As a young girl, I was one of those perverse kids who wore outfits and colors deliberately because they were NOT popular.

I am one who understands EXACTLY what she means when Alice (Alice in Wonderland) says: “Who’s to say what is proper? What if it were agreed that “proper” meant wearing a codfish on your head? Would you wear it? … To me a corset is like a codfish.

I NEVER watched movies or read books or wore clothes JUST because they were popular. In fact, most times I did everything I could to avoid those things. That is likely why I missed out on so many great book and movie series at the very beginning of their popularity. I was always late to the party. Which really isn’t all that bad a thing when you think about all the crazy lines I missed having to stand in as well.

With The Twilight Saga, it was somewhat the same story. I did not miss out entirely on standing in lines or waiting for upcoming releases. I picked up book 1 when the first 3 were out, so I did have to wait for book 4 and Bree. Plus, the movies were only a blip on the horizon at that point so I did have to wait in line for each and every one of those.

In fact, my mother and I were at the midnight show for the first 3

And I truly hope Stephenie decides to write the other 3 books (or more) from Edward’s perspective.

Of course, as much as I would LOVE for them to do the movies over with this wonderful new information, I would hate to lose the awesomeness that is Breaking Dawn parts 1 and 2. So, I will live with the ridiculous Edward and the pathetic wardrobe and the crappy car chosen.

 

As for Midnight Sun…

And because the only thing about the book I don’t care for is the cover… this is my very own fan cover:

I will never understand how anyone could NOT LOVE this book!!! It was quite simply AMAZING! PERFECTION! STUNNINGLY BRILLIANT! Not only did Stephenie stick to what she had written in twilight… I know I would’ve been tempted to change things if it had been my story… She added so much depth to the story and the character.

I understand Edward in so many more ways that I ever have because of this AMAZING BOOK that I just could not put down.

Seriously… my mother and I fought over who got the read it first. We ended up taking turns, and it was always a struggle to let her have her turn. Fortunately, she is a morning person, so she mostly read before I got up.

Way back when, in another post about The Twilight Saga, I said the following:

Actually I do think that most of us “TRUE” fans got it.

And we are the ones defending it to the ground. We are the ones who realize that he is NOT being “human” here. He is not being a jealous, controlling boyfriend. He is being her protector and he’s doing everything he can just to keep her alive.

Maybe the problem is this…

Too many of us have bought into this whole women’s lib thing and forgotten how nice it is to actually have a great guy to lean on when we’re stressed or exhausted or just beaten down by all of the world’s crap. We’ve forgotten how great it feels to have a guy hold our door open for us, take our hand to help us out of a car, let us walk through a doorway first, pay for our dinner and surprise us with amazing gifts – just because they want to.

And because so many women have forgotten how great these things are, too many men have stopped doing them. They make us open our own door, make excuses like they left their wallet at home and we get stuck with the check (or they expect more than they should if they actually pay for your dinner) and they treat us like crap – because they can and we keep coming back to them for more – because we don’t know that WE ARE WORTH MORE!

I don’t know if the words in the above paragraphs are actually why so many people dislike the books, or if it’s jealousy or just plain meanness, but this new book is an exceptional addition to the series – and I do not understand why ANYONE is saying anything to the contrary.

In my book, the only thing that really matters when you pick up a book to read – is whether you enjoy reading it.

And I did!

I enjoyed every single part of the book. The story pulled me right back in. I was entranced and entertained and I remain enthusiastic about even the remote possibility of more books from Edward’s perspective!

 

Gear Signature - JCM

Feature & Review © J.C. Morrows 2020

Disclaimer: I have no control over the ads you may see. I am sorry if any of the content is inappropriate.