What I’m reading: Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

This book has restored my faith in reading… No, seriously.

 

I started this book sometime ago… This year has been a weird time for all of us… Add to that, several books I read during 2019 very nearly ruined me for reading at all. I understand everyone has different likes – and perhaps some people did truthfully enjoy the books I’m speaking of – but I find that hard to believe, personally.

Given all of that disappointment and disillusionment, it’s really no surprise that it took me so long to get back into reading… and, that I pretty much stuck to what I knew already.

When I finally sat down and gave this book a chance, it hooked me immediately. I got both my mother and my daughter interested in the series purely by seeing how much I was enjoying it.

I may not enjoy everything Gail Carriger writes (I’m already certain I won’t), but I LOVE this series!

Sophronia is precisely the sort of heroine girls need more of!

The irony is, many people might draw parallels between this series and Harry Potter… But, The Finishing Academy series is more dangerous, more daring, more inclusive, and more exciting from hilarious start to breathtaking finish!

Read it!

 

 

Feature © JCMorrows 2020